Interview who?

In my tutorial, we did an exercise in which my had to conduct interviews with another class mate in groups of three. The main aim of the exercise was to learn how to develop a hypothesis, design related question while withholding the hypothesis and how to draw conclusions from the answers that were given. The other main aim was the present your information to the class in a way with keeps the interviewee’s identity hidden.

I was given a sheet with my research question on it. It related to the work ethics of students at UOW. From there I had to think about a hypothesis in which was specific, opinionated and inquisitive.

Fig 1. 'Work Ethic': http://thumbs.dreamstime.com/thumblarge_299/1218681184cUnRMT.jpg
Fig 1. ‘Work Ethic’: http://bit.ly/1bfFvtm

My hypothesis was:

“A student’s work ethic is subject to their attitudes towards the university work – If the student is interested in the topic than they will be more productive.”

I then did some research on the topic to help me decide on some of the questions that I was going to ask. I wanted to make sure that I had both qualitative and quantitative aspects in the questions to gather a well rounded research report. We had decide on a minimum of 6 questions. The questions that I constructed for my interview were:

  1. How much time do you dedicate to study?
  2. What behaviours do you believe determines a good work ethic?
  3. Do you place a high importance on study? How high is it on your list of priorities?
  4. When is your work ethic more productive?
  5. Do you believe being engaged in your study is an important aspect in succeeding at uni?
  6. How does your attitude towards the work affect your work ethic?

I then interviewed my subject and collected their answers. I was quite surprised with the answers as they were not quite as I expected.

The conclusions I drew from the interview were:

I have found the work ethic of my interviewee is subject to the amount of work that is to be done. If there is a major assignment or assessment that is due the interviewee will be more productive and dedicate more time to completing it. The amount of effort that they put into their study is equal among all subjects although they receive better marks for subjects they enjoy and understand.

Fig 2. 'Anonymous Interview': http://www.rmsresults.com/uploads/images/QualiSight/anonymous%20interview.jpg
Fig 2. ‘Anonymous Interview’: http://bit.ly/1OWIm8M

This exercise helped me personally in prepared for Assignment 2 and understand how connections are drawn. I was happy with what my results showed as it allowed me to have a better understand of my research question and indicates that I in fact got a accurate response from my interviewee as they were not swayed from knowing my hypothesis. The use of confidentiality really helped in developing accurate end results as it allowed the interviewee to be more accurate and inquisitive with their answers.

One thought on “Interview who?

  1. Great post Tessa, sounds like you conducted a good interview in order to come to the hypothesis you did. The six questions you came up with were good as well. Your hypothesis suits the style of questions, because had you used closed questions or questions where students simply select a pre-determined answer, it would of been easy to get answers that didn’t reflect the truth. Very interesting to read and follow too 🙂

Leave a Reply

